Minister of Health announces First Board for BC College of Nursing Professionals


The Minister of Health on July 26, 2018, announced the members of the first board of the BC College of Nursing Professionals (BCCNP). In alignment with the college’s proposed bylaws, there are an equal number of registrant members and public members. 


In addition, there are an equal number of designated seats on the board for each of the four nursing designations, to ensure that board decisions benefit from the perspectives of all nursing professions. There is also a valuable mix of experienced college board members and new board members that will bring a fresh perspective to the board table.

Professional Representatives

  • Maria Martha Bishop, RPN (to Dec 31, 2019)
  • Stanley Ivan Marchuk, NP (to Dec 31, 2019)
  • Robert William Calnan, RN (to Dec 31, 2020)
  • Virginia Gerbrandt, LPN ( to Dec 31, 2020)
  • Ruth Ann Ringland, NP (to Dec 31, 2020)
  • Laurie Ann Dokis, RN (to Dec 31, 2021)
  • Yvonne Savard, RPN (to Dec 31, 2021)
  • Madelon Emily Stevens, LPN (to Dec 31, 2021)

Public Representatives

  • David Christopher Kruyt (to Dec 31, 2019)
  • Agustin Navarro Jr. (to Dec 31, 2019)
  • Colin Wayne Bennett (to Dec 31, 2020)
  • Bhapinder Kaur Cheema (to Dec 31, 2020)
  • Janene Erickson (to Dec 31, 2020)
  • Mandeep Kaur Mucina (to Dec 31, 2021)
  • Sangeeta Subramanian (to Dec 31, 2021)
  • Richard Eric Turner (to Dec 31, 2021)

The board will remain intact to oversee the college’s operations for the first year. The first elections to fill registrant board member positions will take place in the fall of 2019, with terms to commence in January 2020. 

This is an exciting milestone in the journey towards becoming a single nursing regulator for nurses in British Columbia. The staff and leadership at the three existing colleges are eager to begin collaborating with this new board as it helps set the direction for BCCNP. 


View All News & Events