Professional Standards for Licensed Practical Nurses

The professional standards reflect the values of the nursing profession, clarify what the profession expects of licensed practical nurses, and represent the criteria that CLPNBC uses to measure LPN practice in BC.

This document sets out four professional standards for LPNs. They are:

  1. Responsibility and Accountability
  2. Competency-Based Practice
  3. Client-Focused Provision of Services
  4. Ethical Practice

Each standard has a series of indicators attached to it. The indicators provide specific criteria that are used to measure the actual performance of an individual LPN.